Login

JASSA Events

Along with other special events, the Autumn Matsuri festival was a great sucess.  There was quite an array of music, dance, foods, arts and crafts, martial arts, tea ceremony, flower arrangement, and cosplay. Thanks to all who attended and those who worked so hard to make it a success!

JASSA participates in the Annual Asian New Year Festival to bring Japanese foods, culture, and activities to thousands of people.  New additions include the King William Fair, Founders Day Celebration, Koi Festival, and Anime Convention.

If you are interested in helping with planning and initiation of these wonderful events, please contact our board of directors.  You can also indicate your interests on your membership profile through this website.


Education & Culture

JASSA coordinates scholarships, offer Japanese Language Classes, Calligraphy Classes, Outreach activities for K-12 schools, and much more.  For more on our educational programs, see JASSA Educational Programs.

Throughout the year, we sponsor or host demonstrations in Japanese arts and culture, many co-sponsored by our sister City, Kumamoto City, Japan. Watch our events calendar for more opportunities and information.


Japan-America Relations

Through its Sister City Committee, JASSA assists visiting groups and individuals who have come to San Antonio from Kumamoto.

JASSA also works with San Antonio Department of International Relations and other organizations for special events and international programs.


Quarterly Meetings

Meetings of the Society are an opportunity to gather with others who are interested in Japan and its culture.

Whether it is for planning, networking, or just the chance to visit in English and Japanese with others who share that heritage, meetings are some of the liveliest part of JASSA membership.

Officers

Miyako Wallace
President
president@jas-sa.org


 


Alexander Puckett
 1st Vice President 
(Membership)
membership@jas-sa.org

 


Espie Robertson
2nd Vice President 
(Program)
programs@jas-sa.org


 


Cong Dat Pham
3rd Vice President 
(Education)
education@jas-sa.org


  

"Awaiting Election"
4th Vice President
(Business and Economic Development)


Minako Miyamoto
5th Vice President
(Cultural Activities)

events@jas-sa.org



Micheal Harris
6th Vice President
(Event Coordinator)
event.coordinator@jas-sa.org

 


Yana Indah
Treasurer
treasurer@jas-sa.org




Eugene Castro
Recording Secretary
secretary@jas-sa.org




Jennifer Schooley

Kumamoto Sister-City Chair
Hospitality Chair

hospitality@jas-sa.org



 


Jahnavi Mijagiri
Parliamentarian


 


Jonathan Macias
Technology Services
info.tech@jas-sa.org


Alvin Wallace
Immediate Past President


 

This site is made possible by the National Association of Japan America Societies & The Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnerships.
Have a question or comment? Feel free to contact us any time!


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software